Main Content

Minister Wawzonek announces appointments to the Board of Directors of the BDIC


Today, Caroline Wawzonek, Minister Responsible for the Northwest Territories Business Development and Investment Corporation (BDIC), announced the appointment of four new members and two returning members to the BDIC’s Board of Directors, effective August 1, 2021.

The new members are:
Ayanna Ferdinand Catlyn, Partner, Field LLP
Matthew Bannister, Partner, Crowe MacKay LLP
Onosen Adebo, Branch Manager, Bank of Montreal
Marie-Soleil Lacoursiere, Global Customer Manager, Newmont and Kinross

Returning members include:
Kenny Ruptash, President, Nahanni Construction Ltd.
Lloyd Jones, former Regional Superintendent, Government of the Northwest Territories

Together they will join two current directors, Denny Rodgers (Chairperson) and Charles Furlong. These appointments bring the BDIC’s total Board membership to eight. Their skills and experiences will complement those of the current Board members and provide valuable perspectives as the BDIC continues to implement its strategic plan and support businesses in a changing economy.

The new Board will provide strategic direction for continued progress aligned with the BDIC’s mission–to promote business growth and diversification by providing flexible financing options and targeted programs and services that support businesses throughout their lifecycles.


“I am pleased to announce the appointment of four new and two returning members to the NWT Business Development and Investment Corporation’s Board of Directors. These members join the BDIC at an exciting time as the Corporation undertakes the implementation of its 2021-2024 Strategic Plan and works to enhance and deliver programs and services to support NWT businesses which will be especially important given the COVID-19 pandemic. I am confident the new members will make excellent contributions to the Board of Directors, the BDIC, and NWT’s business sector overall.”
-Caroline Wawzonek, Minister Responsible for the BDIC

Quick Facts:

  • A complete list of Board members can be found on the BDIC website at
  • A BDIC director holds office during pleasure for a term not exceeding three years as fixed in the appointment and may be eligible for reappointment.
  • Two of the appointments are returning members who have a combined three-years experience serving on BDIC’s Board.
  • The BDIC was established to develop and deliver business assistance programming to enterprises in the Northwest Territories, as well as to operate selected subsidiaries for employment creation purposes. The BDIC promotes financial independence, assists communities, and helps develop a diverse and viable northern economy.

Media Requests:
Leslie Dragon
Manager, Public Affairs, Marketing and Business Services
Northwest Territories Business Development and Investment Corporation